2012 Colin Roderick Award

The Colin Roderick Award is a literary award that celebrates Australia, named after Professor Colin Roderick, an academic at James Cook University and creator of the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies.

It is the award for the best book from any genre, that has been published the year before in Australia and which deals with an aspect of Australian life. This year the winner was Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears.

The shortlisted titles for 2012 were:

David Brooks – The Sons of Clovis
Derelie Cherry – Alexander Macleay: from Scotland to Sydney
Cate Kennedy – The Taste of River Water
Mark McKenna – An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark
Amy Mathews – End of the Night Girl
Francesca Rendle Short – Bite Your Tongue

A list of winners from previous years can be found here.

READ  You little ripper!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *