2012 Lady Cutler Award

Professor Robyn EwingProfessor Robyn Ewing of the University of Sydney has been announced as this year’s recipient of the 2012 Lady Cutler Award for Distinguished Service to Children’s Literature in NSW.

Professor Ewing, Professor of Teacher Education and the Arts, will be presented with the award at a special dinner to be held on the 13th of December. She will be acknowledged for her passion in contributing to children’s literature, which includes her latest book Creative Arts in the Lives of Young Children.

The Lady Culter Award is named after Lady Helen Cutler, who in 1966 became the first patron of the Children’s Book Council NSW Branch. Lady Cutler was a dedicated benefactor, recognising and encouraging the need for advancement in children’s literature until her death in 1990. The Award was instated in 1981 to recognise the good work of Lady Cutler.

Last year’s recipient was Margret Wild, whose works include Vampyre and Fox.

READ  Finalists announced for 2013 Carnegie & Kate Greeanway Medals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *