2013 Miles Franklin Award Longlist

The 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist has been announced, and it is a great year with 8 of the 10 books running for the major $60,000 prize written by women. This is fantastic, as the Miles Franklin Award was created as the legacy of Australian female author, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, her debut novel My Brilliant (?) Career, was published under the name ‘Miles Franklin’ in England. Stella Miles Franklin devoted her life to the promotion of literature in Australia.

The list this year includes 5 debut novels alongside Tom Keneally, who has been nominated for his 3rd Miles Franklin, having won in 1967 for Bring Larks and Heroes and in 1968 for Three Cheers for the Paraclete .

Last year the Miles Franklin Award was won by Anna Funder for All That I Am. You can read about last years Longlist here.

Street to Street

Readers and book lovers can contribute their reviews of the longlisted books in the Miles of Reading Challenge. The Challenge aims to support Australian authors with the potential to win collections of this years longlist.

The shortlist will be announced on 30 April at the State Library of New South Wales. The winner of this year’s award will be announced on 19 June at the National Library of Australia in Canberra.


READ  Better Than Chocolate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *