2013 Tasmania Literary Award Winners

The winners of the 2013 Tasmania Literary Prizes have been announced, including the new People’s Choice Category. The biennial awards aim to showcase and celebrate the richness of Tasmanian literature and it’s authors. The Awards have been re imagined this year to include awards for upcoming authors. The books are chosen form the shortlist, which you can read about here.

The Award winners are:

The Tasmania Book Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian author ($25,000)

1835: The Founding of Melbourne and the Conquest of Australia by James Boyce

Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer ($5000)

The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson

The University of Tasmania prize for the best unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer ($5000)

Kubla by Katherine Johnson

This year the Tasmania Awards incorporated a People’s Choice Awards, the three winners were:

Tasmania Book Prize: Last Days of the Mill by Peter Hay & Tony Thorne

Margaret Scott Prize: Pedder Dreaming: Olegas Truchanas and a Lost Tasmanian Wilderness by Natasha Cica

University of Tasmania Prize: Kubla by  Katherine Johnson

The Awards are presented in the 10 Days on the Island festival, where over 500 Tasmanian, Australian and International performers celebrated the culture and history of Tasmania.

READ  The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *