2013 Tasmanian Literary Prizes – Finalists announced


The Tasmanian Government’s have announced the finalists for the biennial  “Tasmanian Literary Prizes” . The awards ‘celebrate the richness of the Tasmanian literary sector and acknowledge the particular influence that Tasmania has on written work’.

The finalists for the 2013 awards are divided into 3 sections, and the finalists for each section are:

Tasmania Book Prize ($25,000) for the best book with Tasmanian content:

Margaret Scott Prize ($5000) for the best book by a Tasmanian writer:

University of Tasmania Prize ($5000) for the best unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer:

  • Kubla by Katherine Johnson
  • Shadow in the Forest by Leigh Swinbourne
  • Lurching by Ben Walter

The final award, the ‘People’s Choice Award’ is open to all shortlisted writers. View extracts from the shortlisted books and vote for your favourite at the Tasmania Arts website.

This year the awards recognise not only established writers as they have in past awards, but will also award Tasmania’s emerging writers. The winners will be announced Friday 22nd March at the Hobart Town Hall as part of the ‘Ten Days on the Island‘ Tasmanian Writers Festival.

READ  2013 Miles Franklin Shortlist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *