American Library Association Awards for Children’s Literature

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the winners of the Caldecott, Newbery, Printz and Morris awards, for children’s and young adult literature.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal:


 This is Not My Hat

Jon Klassen




  • Creepy Carrots! by Aaron Reynolds & Peter Brown
  • Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett & Jon Klassen
  • Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo & David Small
  • Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue & Pamela Zagarenski

The John Newbery Medal

Awarded for an outstanding contribution to childrens literature.

The One and Only IvanThe One and Only Ivan

Katherine Applegate







  • Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
  • Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
  • Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

The Michael L Printz Award

Awarded for excellence in young adult literature is:

In the Darkness In Darkness by Nick Lake








  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Dodger by Terry Pratchett
  • The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna

The William C Morris Award

Awarded for a debut novel in the Young Adult category.


Rachel Hartman







For a complete list of award winners, visit the ALA website here.

READ  Man Booker Prize Shortlist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *