Aussie Authors involved in new Folio Award

The Folio Society has launched a new award for 2014, The Folio Prize, that will celebrate any book published in the UK, regardless of the author’s country or the novel’s genre. Backing the award is an academy of celebrated authors, including Australian greats Peter Carey, J M CoetzeeAnna Funder, James Bradley, Chloe Hooper, Nam Le, Elliot Perlman and Carrie Tiffany, and Australian-born critic and former publisher Carmen Callil.

New Zealand author Emily Perkins is also a member of the academy, alongside prominent international authors such as Margaret Atwood, A S Byatt, Ian McEwan, Salman Rushdie and Zadie Smith. The academy also includes literary critics from publications such as the Guardian, the Sunday Times, London Review of Books, and the New Yorker.

The Academy members nominate books published in the UK between January 1 and December 31, 2013, however they cannot nominate their own books for the awards, and will need to withdraw from the academy should their book be nominated. The Award, selected by a team of judges, comes with a £40,000 prize money and a special illustrated edition of the winning novel to be published by The Folio Society.

The inaugural shortlist will be released February 2014., with the Folio Prize presented in March 2014.


READ  Weekly Bestsellers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *