KOALAs 2013 Winners Announced

This year’s KOALA awards (Kids Own Australian Literature Awards) were announced on Wednesday 30th October at Newington College, Stanmore and was attended by 14 primary schools from around NSW. Many admirable children’s authors were present at the event, including Felice Arena, Duncan Ball, Morris Gleitzman, Chris Morphew, Belinda Murrell, Oliver Phommavanh, and Emily Rodda. Felice Arena was selected as the KOALA Legend 2013. Arena’s action packed and hilarious books, including the Andy Roid, Boyz Rule series, are incredibly popular with younger audiences.

This year’s winning and honour books were chosen by NSW students from the 2013 Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist.

Picture books

The Very Cranky Bear | Nick Bland (Winner) Ella Kazoo Will Not Brush Her Hair | Lee Fox & Cathy Wilcox (Honour) The Little Refugee | Anh Do & Suzanne Do, illus by Bruce Whatley (Honour)

Fiction for younger readers

The Golden Door | Emily Rodda (Winner)  Alice-Miranda Shows the Way | Jacqueline Harvey (Honour) Pizza Cake | Morris Gleitzman (Honour)

Fiction for older readers

The 26-Storey Treehouse | Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton (Winner) The Forgotten Pearl | Belinda Murrell (Honour)  Thai-Riffic! | Oliver Phommavanh (Honour)

Fiction for years 7 to 9

 Contact: The Phoenix Files | Chris Morphew (Winner) The Book Thief | Marcus Zusak (Honour) After | Morris Gleitzman (Honour)


READ  Read an Exclusive Preview of Yassmin's Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *