Miles Franklin Award Longlist

The longlist for the 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced. Congratulations to all ten authors who received this accolade.
The titles are:

In Certain Circles  by Elizabeth Harrower

In Certain Circles

Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett

Golden Boys

The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna

The Golden Age by Joan London
The Golden Age

The Lost Child by Suzanne McCourt
Lost Child The

Here Come the Dogs  by Omar Musa
Here Come the Dogs

When the Night Comes  by Favel Parrett
When the Night Comes

After Darkness  by Christine Piper
After Darkness

Tree Palace by Craig Sherborne

Nest  by Inga Simpson

The shortlist will be announced on 18 May, with the big winner announced on 23 June, taking home a cool $60,000. This year’s judges are:

– Richard Neville, NSW Mitchell librarian
 Murray Waldren, The Australian journalist
– Lindy Jones, bookseller
– Craig Munro, biographer, book historian, publishing editor and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair
– Susan Sheridan, emeritus professor

Miles Franklin

Stella Miles Franklin – 1902

Want to know more about this year’s longlisted books and authors? Find out more here!

About the Miles Franklin Literary Awards

This annual award was established in honour  of Australian female author, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin (pen name Miles Franklin), author of  My Brilliant Career. When Miles passed away in 1954, she left money in her will to set up a literary prize in order to advance, improve and better Australian Literature. Stella Miles Franklin devoted her life to the promotion of literature in Australia. Find out more about Miles Franklin here.

READ  The Last Banquet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *