No Vogel

There will be no  Australian / Vogel’s Literary Award for 2013 –

The judges agreed that it would damage the award if we picked a winner simply because a winner had to be picked: readers can sniff out a compromise in an instant, and we need them to trust that the prize will do what it has always done: find the best work written by emerging authors.

This is only the second time since the award was founded in 1980 that no award has been presented, the last time being 1985.

The award which is given to the best unpublished manuscript has launched the careers of some great Australian authors including Kate Grenville, Tim Winton and Gillian Mears.

Winner of the 2011 award The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson went on to be shortlisted for a number of awards including the Victorian and NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and win the Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Writers Award, and the Margaret Scott Prize for the best book by a Tasmanian writer. 2012 winner, Eleven Seasons by Paul D. Carter has also has also received award nominations including the 2013 NSW Premier’s Literary Award.

Entries for the 2014 award are open and close at the end of this month (entry details online here).


READ  Stage Fright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *