NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Ruby Moonlight

The winners of the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced overnight on the eve of the Sydney Writers Festival. The Book of the Year was awarded to Ali Cobby-Eckermann’s Ruby Moonlight, winner of the Kenneth Selssor Prize for Poetry.


Animal People

David Ireland was awarded the Special Award for Australian Fiction, the NSW Premier’s Translation Prize went to Mr Peter Boyle, while Charlotte Wood’s Animal People was awarded the People’s Choice.

The rest of the winners were:

Mateship with Birds

Christina Stead Prize (Fiction)

Mateship with Birds 

by Carrie Tiffany



The Last Thread

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing 

The Last Thread 

by Michael Sala



The Office

Douglas Stewart Prize (Non-fiction)

The Office: A Hard Working History

by Gideon Haigh



Ghost of Miss Annabel Spoon

Patricia Wrightson Prize (Children’s Literature)

The Ghost of Miss Annabel Spoon

by Aaron Blabey

A Corner of White

Ethel Turner Prize (Young People’s Literature)

A Corner of White

by Jaclyn Moriarty





Betty Roland Prize (Scriptwriting) 

Dead Europe, Louise Fox (See-saw films) based on the book of the same name by Christos Tsiolkas.

Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award

iDon’t Go Back to Where You Came From, Tim Soutphommasane (New South Publishing)

For the list of shortlisted titles head across to our earlier post here.

READ  Latest Book Bestsellers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *