NSW Premier’s Literary Awards Shortlist

130000-NSWpremiersawardshorThe judges have been reading and come up with the following shortlists for the 2013 NSW Premier’s Literary Award. All nominated writers and illustrators must be living Australian citizens or persons holding permanent resident status.

Christina Stead Prize (Fiction)

The six titles shortlisted for the Christina Stead Prize are also up for the People’s Choice Award. You can cast your vote here.

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing 

Douglas Stewart Prize (Non-fiction)

Kenneth Slessor Prize 

Patricia Wrightson Prize (Children’s Literature)

READ  Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk

Ethel Turner Prize (Young People’s Literature)

Nick Enright Prize

  • The Damned, Reg Cribb (Black Swan State Theatre Company)
  • Return to Earth, Lally Katz (Currency Press, Melbourne Theatre Company)
  • Day One. A Hotel, Evening, Joanna Murray-Smith (Red Stitch Actor’s Theatre)
  • Happy Ending, Melissa Reeves (Melbourne Theatre Company)
  • Food, Steve Rodgers (Belvoir, Force Majeure)
  • A Hoax, Rick Viede (La Boit Theatre Co, Griffin Theatre Co)

Betty Roland Prize (Scriptwriting)

  • Rake (Season 2 Episode 4): R v Floyd, Andrew Knight (ABC TV / Essential Media Entertainment)
  • The Left to Die Boat, Sharon Davis & Geoffrey Parish (ABC Radio National)
  • Dead Europe, Louise Fox (See-saw films)
  • Burning Man, Jonathan Teplitzky (Meercat films)

Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award

  • All Windows Open and Other Stories, Hariklia Heristanidis (Clouds of Magellan)
  • Don’t Go Back to Where You Came From, Tim Soutphommasane (New South Publishing)
  • Beneath the Darkening Sky, Majok Tulba (Penguin Group Australia)
  • Anguli Ma: A Gothic Tale, Chi Vu (Giramondo)

NSW Premier’s Translation Prize 

  • Mr Peter Boyle
  • Ms Alison Entrekin
  • Professor Brian Nelson
  • Professor Ouyang Yu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *