The Scarlet Stiletto Awards

Kerry Greenwood, Josephine Pennicott and Marion Boyce

The Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto Awards is a short story competition was devised over a glass of red wine in St Kilda, Victoria 1994, with the intent to uncover and support women crime writers with strong female protagonists in their work. As an annual award, the short story writers compete for prize money and the prestigious, red stiletto shoe.

This year, first prize was taken by Josephine Pennicott for her short story, Shadows, a harrowing story about ‘obsession, grief and the power of words and perception’. This is her second win, in 2001 she won the Stiletto for Birthing the Demons. Josephine’s latest novel, Poet’s Cottage, debuted this year in May, a haunting mystery of a girl uncovering dark family secrets in a Tasmanian sea-side town .

Other short story winners in the 2012 awards include…

A Clean Job by Emilie Collyer – The Kill City 2nd Prize ($400) & The Clandestine Press Award for Cross Genre ($300)

The Autumn Dog Cannot Live to Spring by Claire McKenna – The Cate Kennedy Award, 3rd Prize ($350)

Brought to Book by Kath Harper – the Inaugural Athenaeum Library ‘Body in the Library’ Award ($1000)

Quit by Aoife Clifford – the Inaugural Athenaeum Library ‘Body in the Library’ Award, Runner Up, &  the Pulp Fiction Bookshop: Funniest Crime Award ($150 voucher).

Fish for Freedom by Sarah Evans – The Kerry Greenwood Malice Domestic Award ($500)

Nursing a Suspicion by Robyn McWilliam – Benn’s Books Best Investigative Award ($200)

Much Ado About Nunning by Helen Illes – the Scriptworks Great Film Idea Award ($200)

READ  Children's Book Week

Fallen Angel by Candice Graham – Inaugural Catherine Leppert Environmental Theme Award ($250)

Perspective by Ebony Franzman – Allen & Unwin Young Writer’s Award ($500)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *