TS Eliot Prize for Poetry

The 2012 TS Eliot Prize for Poetry, commending the best new collection of poetry published in England and Ireland, was awarded to Sharon Olds for Stags Leap.

Olds is the first American woman to win the TS Eliot Prize for Literature. Stag’s Leap is a poignant collection of poems revolving on the theme of Old’s personal divorce. Her poetry is raw and haunting, and was selected out of over 100 submissions by judges poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy (The Bees), North Irish poet Michael Longley (20th Century Irish Poems) and British poet David Morely.

Carol Ann Duffy, Chair of the judges, said:

My fellow judges Michael Longley, David Morley and I were proud of the freshness, skill and authority exhibited in this year’s shortlist. From over 130 collections, we were particularly impressed by the strong presence of women on the list and were unanimous in awarding the 2012 T S Eliot Prize to Sharon Olds’ Stag’s Leap, a tremendous book of grace and gallantry which crowns the career of a world-class poet.

The TS Eliot Prize for Poetry was established in 1993 and carries £15,000 prize money, and £1000 award for the year’s shortlisted poets – Simon Armitage, Paul Farley, Jacob Polley and Sean Borrodale.

READ  Fresh and Light

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *